Get entertained with SPAMMERS

Jan 7 2011

As the Editor of Musickafe.com, where I have displayed my email address publicly for the mere convenience of genuine users to emails me, I get a lot of SPAM emails. My Google apps email almost filters the spams but misses out a few which appear to be very genuine.

One of the recent spam message even fooled me for a second (not more than that, because one gets trained to understand the voice of a spammer after reading a lot of spams). Being irritated by the spammer wasting my time, I thought I should also 'waste' some of his time (very selfish and sadistic, indeed :-) ) and get some entertainment in the process. So I tricked the spammer as I got fooled by his email.

here is his original email:

(If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to your President or appropriate person, thanks)

Dear President,

We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china, have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on December 29, 2010. one company which self-styled "Shail Industrial Co. Ltd" were applying to register "musickafe" as Network Brand and following domain names:

musickafe.asia
musickafe.cn
musickafe.co.in
musickafe.com.cn
musickafe.com.tw
musickafe.hk
musickafe.in
musickafe.net.cn
musickafe.org.cn
musickafe.tw

After our initial checking, we found the name were similar to your company's, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the registration for "Shail Industrial Co. Ltd".

Best Regards,

Kevin Wong

Registration Dept.
Tel: (+86) 551-5223174 || Fax: (+86) 551-5223175
Address:10/F,Jindi International Building,No.588
MaAnshan South Road,Baohe District,Heifei.China

PPlease consider the environment before you print this e-mail.

Note the last line!!

Please consider the environment before you print this e-mail.

What a big concern for the spammer? May be the spammer thought printing all his spams will cost a forest?

I replied to him in genuine voice

I did not authorize. Please can you stop them from registering the domain?

The spammer replies more thoughtfully

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your confirmation. As soon as receiving the application of Shail Industrial Co. Ltd, we checked and found "musickafe" is your company's registered trademark. So we inform you also that's reason why we sent email to you.
But you should know that The domain names registration is open in China, Shail Industrial Co. Ltd has right to apply for the available domain names. For this reason Shail Industrial Co. Ltd is also licit applicant and we have no right to reject them. You only own the preferential rights to register them.
In addition,please inform us your company's decision of this issue. If your company do need to register those Domains in China please contact us in time, then we'll inform you how to register. Or else we think it as your waiver. Thanks for your understanding.

Best Regards,

Kevin Wong
Tel: (+86) 551-5223174 || Fax: (+86) 551-5223175
PPlease consider the environment before you print this e-mail.

Then I asked him very innocently

Since Musickafe.com is a registered company in India. Then how is it possible for the other company to register the domain names in their name?

Legal advice from the Spammer

Dear Sir,

Maybe you should talk with your lawyer. In the light of the domain registration principle, if you waive these names, Shail Industrial Co. Ltd will be entitled to apply for them.
Your prompt response will be highly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Kevin Wong
Tel: (+86) 551-5223174 || Fax: (+86) 551-5223175
PPlease consider the environment before you print this e-mail.

I waited for a day and then replied again.
By this time, I have asked him too much question. So why not put a bait of money waiting at the door?

I just spoke with my lawyer and he says it's not possible to register. what do you say? do you have any link that explain the process from you side?

BTW, how much will it cost me to buy the domain?

Spammer's reply

Dear Sir,

We will register is not musickafe. com, but I list of below, you think impossible, then I'll let you know after registering successfully.

Here is the cost below:
Domain Name
musickafe.cn 25 USD/per year
musickafe.com.cn 25 USD/per year
musickafe.net.cn 25 USD/per year
musickafe.org.cn 25 USD/per year
musickafe.com.tw 60 USD/per year
musickafe.hk 60 USD/per year
musickafe.tw 60 USD/per year
musickafe.asia 60 USD/per year
musickafe.co.in 60 USD/per year
musickafe.in 60 USD/per year
Network Brand
musickafe 150 USD/per year

If you decide to register those Domain names please let us know in order to transfer the Application Form to you.

Best Regards,

Kevin Wong
Tel: (+86) 551-5223174 || Fax: (+86) 551-5223175
PPlease consider the environment before you print this e-mail.

Bargain is bargain. whether you are buying it actually or just playing

Why are the domain names very costly at 25$/year. Do you provide any additional service? BTW, what is "Network Brand musickafe" registration at 150$/year?

A typical shop keeper's justification of the price

Dear Sir,

Expensive? You can check other registrar's price. I gave a price includes, after the registration of analytical, links, management are free of charge. It means after registering successfully, to solve all the problems about these domain, These are all free.

By the way, The Network Brand is a network trademark, the protection of the trademark in the internet also it's the part of the IP rights. Chinese government will issue the certificate when you formally finished the registration. In addition, to protect the trademark in China, the registration of the Network Brand is a better way, once you own it, anyone else is not allowed to apply the domains. Network Brand has its trademarks promotion and use value in addition to its very important trademarks value, and it is unique for an company in internet.

Best Regards,

Kevin Wong
Tel: (+86) 551-5223174 || Fax: (+86) 551-5223175
PPlease consider the environment before you print this e-mail.

I am a careful customer, you know??

Chinese government will issue the certificate when you formally finished the registration.

is the 'Network Brand' certificate valid on other countries as well? What if someone in USA tries to buy domains names with musickafe.XYZ?

Spammer replies

Dear Sir,

Yes, Network Brand certificate is like the trademark certificate, that can protect all the domains. For example, as long as someone registered network brand"musickafe", no one else is allowed to register any domain with the only word "musickafe" in any countries. It is a good way to protect the domains, please confirm whether you are going to register it. In order to handle this issue, your prompt response will be highly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Kevin Wong
Tel: (+86) 551-5223174 || Fax: (+86) 551-5223175
PPlease consider the environment before you print this e-mail.

Second bait. I replied.

Can you make some discounts for the total purchase of the domain names that you listed plus the network brand certificate? It's a huge sum, right?

Discounted prices from the spammer.

Dear Sir,

Depending on the different registration years, you will enjoy different discounts:
If you register all above for 2 years, we give 5% discount. After discounting the total value is 1159.00 USD
If you register all above for 3 years, we give 10% discount. After discounting the total value is 1647.00 USD
If you register all above for 5 years, we give 20% discount. After discounting the total value is 2440.00 USD
If you only register 1 year, total fees is 610.00 USD, we have no discount.
By the way, you must pay all the cost one time not annual.
If you need to register, we will be glad to forward a dispute application form to you. Your prompt response will be highly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Kevin Wong
Tel: (+86) 551-5223174 || Fax: (+86) 551-5223175
PPlease consider the environment before you print this e-mail.

I am still a typical customer at the local market!

Can you give provide a discount of 15% for one year registration of all the domain?

Here's the spammer with more offers.
BTW, he is too greedy to give a discount of just 10% for all the money is trying to swindle from me:

Dear Sir,

Through communication with my colleagues, final decision:we can give a discount of 10% for one year registration.
Attachment is the Application Form.
If you accept the discount,please return the Form completely in time,in order to we do the next step.Thanks.

Best Regards,

Kevin Wong
Tel: (+86) 551-5223174 || Fax: (+86) 551-5223175
PPlease consider the environment before you print this e-mail.

I know you dont have time to read this anymore.
Neither did I have time to continue entertaining myself with the spammer. So, to the spammer

No problem you Spammer!! I was just kidding. Now stop spamming someone else and do some REAL Business. Enough is enough!!

Thanks for your entertainment, though :-)

Of course, I should thank him!

Tags:

Add new comment

Filtered HTML

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.